wellytronic
11-01-2007, 10:59 AM
Hi you lot,
This thread is intended as a warning for anyone who has seen the link to the above website (www.consolefever.co.uk) via the Amazon homepage.
When looking through the site I have noticed a couple of things which don't add up & I'd much rather you were aware of the possible pitfalls before contacting them.
Firstly, the website states that they have Wii IN STOCK - but gives no opportunity to actually order one, instead a mobile phone number is supplied (0700 5947 366) which you then have to call & all you get is the voicemail. Does this sound a little shady?
Now, consider also the fact that the console costs £149.99 inc VAT & delivery, which is a total of £176.24 (since their terms & conditions page states that delivery is FREE to most of the UK) & you can begin to understand my concerns...
So, we know this website apparently HAS wii in stock, BUT, we ALSO know that you CAN'T just order one, no. Instead you either have to ring a mobile number (wtf?!?) & leave a message OR you can email them (also provided on the site). Does it strike anyone as strange that someone would offer an in-demand item such as this for LESS than the RRP? AND include FREE delivery? Load of ******** if you ask me.
Just to confirm (in case anyone still harbours a desire to do business with this site) - I checked the website owner & registrant details via WHOIS, and here's the Copy & Paste from their result:
Domain name:
consolefever.co.uk
Registrant:
Console Fever
Registrant type:
UK Individual
Registrant's address:
The registrant is a non-trading individual who has opted to have their
address omitted from the WHOIS service.
Registrant's agent:
Pipex Communications UK Ltd t/a 123-Reg.co.uk [Tag = 123-REG]
URL: http://www.123-reg.co.uk
Relevant dates:
Registered on: 08-Jan-2007
Renewal date: 08-Jan-2009
Last updated: 08-Jan-2007
Registration status:
Registration request being processed.
Name servers:
ns1.simounts2.co.uk
ns2.simounts2.co.uk
WHOIS lookup made at 11:37:44 11-Jan-2007[/color]
...notice that the site's only a couple of days old? AND that he's a "non-trading" individual?
Until more feedback & concrete details can be ascertained, I'd say: Stay well away from this one!. :wink:
This thread is intended as a warning for anyone who has seen the link to the above website (www.consolefever.co.uk) via the Amazon homepage.
When looking through the site I have noticed a couple of things which don't add up & I'd much rather you were aware of the possible pitfalls before contacting them.
Firstly, the website states that they have Wii IN STOCK - but gives no opportunity to actually order one, instead a mobile phone number is supplied (0700 5947 366) which you then have to call & all you get is the voicemail. Does this sound a little shady?
Now, consider also the fact that the console costs £149.99 inc VAT & delivery, which is a total of £176.24 (since their terms & conditions page states that delivery is FREE to most of the UK) & you can begin to understand my concerns...
So, we know this website apparently HAS wii in stock, BUT, we ALSO know that you CAN'T just order one, no. Instead you either have to ring a mobile number (wtf?!?) & leave a message OR you can email them (also provided on the site). Does it strike anyone as strange that someone would offer an in-demand item such as this for LESS than the RRP? AND include FREE delivery? Load of ******** if you ask me.
Just to confirm (in case anyone still harbours a desire to do business with this site) - I checked the website owner & registrant details via WHOIS, and here's the Copy & Paste from their result:
Domain name:
consolefever.co.uk
Registrant:
Console Fever
Registrant type:
UK Individual
Registrant's address:
The registrant is a non-trading individual who has opted to have their
address omitted from the WHOIS service.
Registrant's agent:
Pipex Communications UK Ltd t/a 123-Reg.co.uk [Tag = 123-REG]
URL: http://www.123-reg.co.uk
Relevant dates:
Registered on: 08-Jan-2007
Renewal date: 08-Jan-2009
Last updated: 08-Jan-2007
Registration status:
Registration request being processed.
Name servers:
ns1.simounts2.co.uk
ns2.simounts2.co.uk
WHOIS lookup made at 11:37:44 11-Jan-2007[/color]
...notice that the site's only a couple of days old? AND that he's a "non-trading" individual?
Until more feedback & concrete details can be ascertained, I'd say: Stay well away from this one!. :wink: